Banner Ad 1

Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

This is the place to post your submarine build- ups.

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby Tommydeen » Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:07 am

no worries Tim..I know all about duty.. its all good :wink:
Tom
User avatar
Tommydeen
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 2:23 am
Location: Denver Colarado

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby SubICman » Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:35 am

Tom,

Here you go, I took a crap ton of pictures of the towed array tube and fairing. Hope it helps, Getting ready for our Subron 4 meeting today.


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

One word about the towed array fairing casting. The alumilte continued to cure and shrink, at the beginning of this year, I had to re-attach the fairing and pin it into place, hence some of the primer spots on the casting. My plan is to repaint topside this winter
When surfaced, the bridge access hatch can be optionally open or shut, however, when submerged it is required to be shut. (Really a no s***t precaution from a procedure in use in the sub fleet today.)
SC #3116
User avatar
SubICman
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Voluntown, CT

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby SubICman » Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:06 am

Opps,

Forgot the ones with the ruler in the pic. I only have a steel one so thery are not the best.


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
When surfaced, the bridge access hatch can be optionally open or shut, however, when submerged it is required to be shut. (Really a no s***t precaution from a procedure in use in the sub fleet today.)
SC #3116
User avatar
SubICman
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Voluntown, CT

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby SubICman » Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:22 am

Continueing with the mast construction. I cut pieces out and placed them up against the scale drawings to get the lengths and curves set right. I took a piece of brass tubing (can't seem to find the size I used in my notes) and squashed it into an oval with a vise to form the antenna portion. I also pulled my scope barrel out of the resin mast. For the BLA-4 i turned to my trusty acient Craftsman metal lathe and turned a new antenna for that. I soldered everything together very carefully, when working with stuff this small, a micro torch is a MUST!


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Image
When surfaced, the bridge access hatch can be optionally open or shut, however, when submerged it is required to be shut. (Really a no s***t precaution from a procedure in use in the sub fleet today.)
SC #3116
User avatar
SubICman
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Voluntown, CT

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby Thor » Sat Aug 20, 2011 3:45 pm

Tim,

Yes! When you get those drawings done send them over and I will get to work doing what I can. I should have everything set up in the new shop by late spring and my health should be back to the point that I can operate the machinery. I really miss that old Sturgeon of mine. I wish I could remember who I sold my old boat to. I would buy it back. It was the one I had at the 1994 & 1995 Regatta. What a stupid move to sell that boat!!!

Matt
User avatar
Thor
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:01 pm
Location: United States

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby Tommydeen » Sun Aug 21, 2011 3:46 am

Wow thanks alot Tim the pics help!!!!!
User avatar
Tommydeen
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 2:23 am
Location: Denver Colarado

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby Rogue Sub » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:50 pm

Tim- BUTCHER!!

Thor- I thought I was your favorite Nuke?
Kevin
A Global Force For Good

http://WWW.ROGUESUBWORKS.COM
User avatar
Rogue Sub
Registered User
 
Posts: 1761
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:01 pm
Location: NY

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby Thor » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:40 pm

:roll:

oh, boy......
User avatar
Thor
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:01 pm
Location: United States

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby wlambing » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:55 pm

Kevin,

You are, dork! Tim is a non-nuke twigget!!!!! Formerly a two-wire electrician. Sheeeshh!! How quickly they forget!!

B^)

MMCS(SS) USN (Ret.)

World's greatest living Submarine Auxiliaryman
and friend to small furry creatures
"If you ignore the problem long enough, it will go away. Even flooding stops eventually!"
User avatar
wlambing
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Ledyard, CT, USA

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby Rogue Sub » Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:29 pm

Bill are you a member of the furies?
Kevin
A Global Force For Good

http://WWW.ROGUESUBWORKS.COM
User avatar
Rogue Sub
Registered User
 
Posts: 1761
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:01 pm
Location: NY

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby Rogue Sub » Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:37 pm



Just so there are no misunderstandings....
Kevin
A Global Force For Good

http://WWW.ROGUESUBWORKS.COM
User avatar
Rogue Sub
Registered User
 
Posts: 1761
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:01 pm
Location: NY

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby wlambing » Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:39 am

Kevin,

No. They're not small, nor furry enough!

B^)
"If you ignore the problem long enough, it will go away. Even flooding stops eventually!"
User avatar
wlambing
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Ledyard, CT, USA

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby Rogue Sub » Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:05 am

I am not convinced
Kevin
A Global Force For Good

http://WWW.ROGUESUBWORKS.COM
User avatar
Rogue Sub
Registered User
 
Posts: 1761
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:01 pm
Location: NY

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby JWLaRue » Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:12 pm

....nor pink enough? :)

-Jeff
Rohr 1.....Los!
User avatar
JWLaRue
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 1994 6:00 pm
Location: Annapolis, MD

Re: Upgrading a Thor Design's 637

Postby SubICman » Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:43 pm

jeez, go out to sea for a week and you guys hijack my thread for FURRIES?!?!?!?!
When surfaced, the bridge access hatch can be optionally open or shut, however, when submerged it is required to be shut. (Really a no s***t precaution from a procedure in use in the sub fleet today.)
SC #3116
User avatar
SubICman
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Voluntown, CT

PreviousNext

Return to Builder Threads

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users