Banner Ad 1

Multi-Switches for R/C - Educate me, please!

R/C Submarine modelers

Multi-Switches for R/C - Educate me, please!

Postby Bob the Builder » Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:05 pm

I've never played with these, but my latest build, an Engel Typhoon, has my wish-list overwhelming the number of channels on my transmitter.

I'm using a Futaba T9CAP transmitter and I want to know if its possible to add a multi-switch module to it with a decoder onboard the sub to run things like missile doors, lights, sounds, etc. I've got no experience with these, and my research on the 'net has thus far proved to be frustrating.

Can someone tell me the following:

1.) Is it possible to install a multi-switch on the transmitter
2.) If so, what switch is recommended, and what is involved in installing it?
3.) I've seen some modules that do simple switching (on/off), and others that seem to be able to offer full servo functionality on the 8 expanded channels. Obviously I would prefer the latter, but the former would work as well.

Thanks, in advance!


Bob
Bob Martin,
RCSub homepage: http://www.rc-sub.com
User avatar
Bob the Builder
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:40 am
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Multi-Switches for R/C - Educate me, please!

Postby GreyAkula52 » Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:03 pm

Ahoy there!
Question 1. Yes,
Question 2. MCD Switch 8 Or 16
Question 3. Yes, this Is True, You Can Order The System With Either Toggle ( Latched ) Controls Or Proportional.
Vantec Is A Place You Can Try To Get Better Information......
Andre S. Burgess, P.E.
User avatar
GreyAkula52
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Washington D.C. (Metropolitan Area)

Re: Multi-Switches for R/C - Educate me, please!

Postby Bob the Builder » Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:55 am

Sounds good to me! Any place recommended as a source for the switch and decoder modules?
Bob Martin,
RCSub homepage: http://www.rc-sub.com
User avatar
Bob the Builder
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:40 am
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Multi-Switches for R/C - Educate me, please!

Postby Sub culture » Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:55 pm

The main thing to bear in mind is how the set is configured inside, and the interface available to you on the TX.

In this respect, the Robbe/Futaba and Graupner/JR sets take some beating, as they have the case designs and necessary junction points for adding expanded switch modules.

With microcontrollers it's entirely feasible to expand the amount of channels available to you well beyond anything you should ever need- how would 256 proportional channels grab you? Those channels would operate with a time lag e.g about 500msec, which isn't a problem for most auxiliary functions.

There are simple boards available, quite cheaply, that will split up one channel in to 5 switched functions e.g. - http://translate.google.co.uk/translate ... =&ie=UTF-8
'Why are you staring at an empty pond?'

Want to dive your boat in crystal clear water? Then you had better Dive-in- http://www.diveintomodelsubmarines.co.uk
User avatar
Sub culture
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 2860
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 6:55 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Multi-Switches for R/C - Educate me, please!

Postby Sub culture » Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:45 pm

Have a look at the encoder and decoder boards at this link-

http://www.pm.keirle.com/1_gadgets/1_gadgets.htm

As it's hardware based (as opposed to a microcontroller) it is a little heavier on hardware, but far from complicated to build. Unfortunately there are a couple of images missing from the encoder page, which is a shame- perhaps a polite email to the webmaster will get that sorted out.

It should be possible to build both boards for about £25-30 ($40-50 maybe less) and you would only have to build the TX board once. Seven extra proportional channels in exchange for one sounds good to me, and it comes at a fraction of the cost of commercial alternatives.
'Why are you staring at an empty pond?'

Want to dive your boat in crystal clear water? Then you had better Dive-in- http://www.diveintomodelsubmarines.co.uk
User avatar
Sub culture
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 2860
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 6:55 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Multi-Switches for R/C - Educate me, please!

Postby Sub culture » Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:35 pm

Ignore the last post, it won't work.
'Why are you staring at an empty pond?'

Want to dive your boat in crystal clear water? Then you had better Dive-in- http://www.diveintomodelsubmarines.co.uk
User avatar
Sub culture
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 2860
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 6:55 am
Location: London, UK


Return to R/C Modeler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chuck Chesney, Yahoo [Bot]