Banner Ad 1

porpoising problems

Place for general submarine conversation

porpoising problems

Postby greenman407 » Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:31 pm

at scale speeds or under my albacore operates at periscope depth ok, a little sensative but ok. if you run any faster it porpoises up and down. the faster you go the worse it gets.you cant keep it from broaching or turning on its nose and heading straight down. could it be that the apc is set too sensative or not sensative enough? or perhaps there is another problem? with the dave merriman wtc-3 theres plenty of power to make this thing rip, but as you see i cant use it. :cry: any takers? thanks mark
Image p.s. did i mention that it is an x-tail?
There are OLD pilots and there are BOLD pilots but there are very few OLD BOLD pilots. MAG
greenman407

Postby Chuck Chesney » Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:17 pm

I've been hesitant to offer a comment on your question, since I have zero experience with an X-tail craft, but under almost any other set of circumstnces I would say that you have way too much sensitivity with your control surfaces. The boat is over controlling by a huge margin.
You might try setting the pushrods from the servos to a lower setting so that the control surfaces have less throw to them. If that dosen't help, the APC may be set too sensitive also.
The sub should respond more like a ship and less like an F/A-18.
Chuck

"The Japanese solders would die for the Emperor, which made them formidable. The U.S. Marines would die for each other, which made them invinceable"...Iwo Jima
Chuck Chesney

porpoisig albacore

Postby greenman407 » Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:55 pm

thanks chuck,im going to continue playing with the adjustment of my apc. thanks :)
There are OLD pilots and there are BOLD pilots but there are very few OLD BOLD pilots. MAG
greenman407

Postby Davy » Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:09 am

Yes , sounds like too much sensitivity in the APC unit.

Davy
Davy

APC control

Postby Mike Dory » Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:01 pm