Banner Ad 1

servo questions - voltages

Place for general submarine conversation

Postby Mike D » Fri Feb 21, 2003 11:12 am

Hey SC members.

I using three 1/4 scale servos (futaba) in a large sub.
Im not using a typical batery Im using a 12v deep
cycle marine batery. i have a transformer to bump
down to 6v. for the r/c stuff.
Its one of those car types with differant
voltage outputs. I have its + wired directly to a 3 amp
fuse. then it connects to the receiver. Gound is directly
connected to neg on the batery via a .01uf and 10uf @ 6v
caps. (to take out electrical noise) when i put a meter on
the + get a reading of 6.35v. Going to the reciver.
Is this bad? I have been running this setup for 5 years
with not many problems but need to know...is this bad?
dose voltage have anything to do with torque?
what is the norm. for operating servos (volts and amps)
dose it matter if you are running a little higher?

Also what is the usuall voltage and amps provided in those
gell cells i see people using in r/c stuff?

one more...my servo leads are very very long....6 feet to my rudder one...is the lenth of the leads something to worry about?

As i said befor...i havent experienced many problems over the years but i am now installing a pic microcontroller to make the sub atomomus...the controller has outputs for servos and also has a external supply hookup for just the servos. (i guess this is so you dont need to use the voltages thru the controller. )
so if i use the external supply, can i hook it up to the transformer Im using now with the currents its supplying now?

Or should i do something else? One thing to remember , i would like to use the 12v batery (bumping it down to 6v) for all of the
r/c stuff. I do not wish to add other bateries for the r/c stuff.

any feedback or comments would be great to hear from you guys on this subject.

Michael
Mike D

Postby rcade » Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:57 pm