Banner Ad 1

THOR SC-10 Info Needed - THOR SC-10 Info Needed

Place for general submarine conversation

Postby JIMJAM » Thu Jun 26, 2003 2:52 pm

I have a 32P VIIC 12 Volt Dual Motors. I have used a Novak Super Rooster in the past. Will the SC-10 handle 2 motors? Any users have any feedback on this ESC? Overheating, handle 3 servos plus APC,SubSafe ect... Thanks
JIMJAM
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 pm

Postby ThorDesign » Thu Jun 26, 2003 11:41 pm

Hi Jim,

The SC-10 will take a constant draw of 10 amps from the motors, and the BEC will deliver a solid 1 amp + to your radio with accessories. As long as you do not exceed the 10 amp continuous or 15 in spike you should have no trouble. I am currently working on a 1/48th Type XXI that has a very similar setup. It has only been bench tested, but I expect no problems. I am going to release a 30 amp SC later on in the fall that is a bit smaller than SC-10 and it is capable of 3 amps of supply to the radio.

:D
ThorDesign
Registered User
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:16 pm
Location: OZ

Postby RPM » Sat Jun 28, 2003 2:41 pm

I have a ESC{mtronics} with a 1 amp bec on it and it will NOT run all the servos required for a big sub if you have long servo leads, I have to use a rx battery to get the amps up
RPM
Registered User
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 12:46 am

Postby ThorDesign » Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:07 pm

SC-10 is rated for 1.5 amps on the BEC, but advertised at 1.0 amps. Try it and see. If it does not perform I will gladly refund your money. RPM is correct in the servo leads and motor leads for that matter. Keep them as short as possible.

SC-30 is almost ready and will deliver more power than needed. We have designing it to power our upcoming 1/48th & 1/32nd Fleetboats.

:)
ThorDesign
Registered User
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:16 pm
Location: OZ

Postby ameyer » Tue Jul 29, 2003 1:29 am

Please note:

One of the liminations of the SC-10, built by MCD of Canada and sold as a ThoreDesign product, can not not be used with more than 10 Vots, DC.

I have checked this with Matt ( after my purchase) and he occures. I have two SC-10 units I would like to sell.
Art Meyer
ameyer
Registered User
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 6:13 pm

Postby ThorDesign » Thu Jul 31, 2003 8:30 pm

Hi Art,

We phased the MCD products out of our line and now supply a brand new SC made specifically for us. The new SC 10 specs will supply the specs above in my previous message, however the input voltage is limited to 15 volts DC.

Matt

:)
ThorDesign
Registered User
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:16 pm
Location: OZ


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron