Banner Ad 1

Engel Submarines

Place for general submarine conversation

Engel Submarines

Postby Alexander The Great » Sat May 26, 2012 9:33 pm

Allow me to introduce myself
I have just joined the SubCommittee message board :D , and I'm a typical newbie. I've just finished a Sheerline Trafalgar and now I'm looking for a new project. I've chosen to buy an Engel sub since I've heard about it's high quality and reliability :) . But now I'm stuck in a deep hole since I can't decide which sub to get :x . My choices are; 212A, VIIC, IXD2, Gato, Lafayette, Akula, Typhoon, and the 206. I'm just dismissed the Nautilus as a project as it is not suitable for my needs (which is filming the bottom of a lake). I do think that I should go with the 'modern' Engel subs, the ones that have a tech-rack, etc. These subs are; 212A, VIIC, Lafayette, and the Typhoon. I've done some research, surfing the web for info on some of these subs. What I turned up is that the older Engel subs like the 206 and the Akula are a real pain-in-the-butt to service, since they use a out-dated sealing method that allows for very limited access. Though the Typhoon uses that same 'out-dated sealing method', it is still a viable option to me.

I'm open to any of the subs I mentioned above.

What do you think?

Alexander The Great

P.S. There will be another topic about the Engel TAE/TMAX switch units and wether to have one or two piston tanks
The job ain't done when you are on the couch watching football 2 hours early.
Alexander The Great

Re: Engel Submarines

Postby JWLaRue » Sat May 26, 2012 10:11 pm

Alex,

Built correctly, any of the Engel sub kits results in a fine r/c sub. It sounds like you are not concerned (or minimally concerned) with the specific era or type of model? If you are principally looking for a "camera boat", then it may make good sense to select one that gives you the best camera platform.