Banner Ad 1

Greetings all

Place for general submarine conversation

Greetings all

Postby usdiver63 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:34 am

Howdy everyone! I was an avid modeler and rc junki for some time. Rc nitro and electric trucks mainly, but I have been pulled toward the boat and sub world. I have decided on the Russian typhoon as my first rc submarine and will make it a static diver. As for size, and most will think me insane but I enjoy the challenge, will be a 1/72 scale. Yes this boat will be a leviathan of size.

I started with research and began with the plans found on the Internet. But oh the problems with these plans! So many tiny measurements and calculations to find the proper size. So I thought to my self, if I had to scale plans this would be much easier and be a fine wall mount later on. After talking with a friend of mine we manufactured these plans on his decal machine. In just a few hours the plans were complete. Two 8' long and 24" plans were plotted and printed, size of the paper not the actual drawing, showing the top and side view in such excellent detail. As well as a straight on diagram and another of various angles. I will be posting pictures of these later on this evening. My friend is also completely happy to do plans for others as well in what ever scale.

But I digress, this is my hello im here and look forward to your comments and advice as this project unfolds.
Dive well!
usdiver63

Re: Greetings all

Postby salmon » Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:19 am

Welcome!
Look forward to seeing your build!
Peace,
Tom
If you can cut, drill, saw, hit things and swear a lot, you're well on the way to building a working model sub.
salmon
SubCommittee Member

Postby Wayne Frey » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:25 pm

There is a 1/72 Typhoon manufacturer in Australia, if I remember correctly. I should have some pictures of one of the Subcommittee guys at the regatta with one a few years back.
It would be infinately easier to buy a kit. But a scratch build is fun too.