Banner Ad 1

PVC Submarine

This is the place to post your submarine build- ups.

PVC Submarine

Postby ericclark » Sat May 01, 2010 12:29 pm

Hey everybody, I heard about this site on RCGroups but couldn't find it at first. Now that I have, I'm glad, there's a lot of cool stuff here! Anyway, this thread is more of me asking any of you veterans a bunch of questions about the basic principles of submarines. I'm new to the world of RC watercraft just having finished up my first and only boat, the USS Crockett, and more recently, I've started an ambitious project of constructing a fully functional, RC submarine mostly out of PVC. Its strong, cheap, and easy to work with. I started a little build log over in RCGroups here, http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1236361, but I'm gonna post stuff here as well. I'm not entirely naive when it comes to subs cause I've been doing a lot of research but even so, every time I read a page I learn something new, so I don't think I know it all. :wink:

So, advice, suggestions, hints and tips, things to watch out for, anything useful will be most appreciated.

Eric
ericclark

Re: PVC Submarine

Postby Boss subfixer » Sat May 01, 2010 3:26 pm

Welcome aboard Eric! After watching your Crockett build you should do quite well with your submarine project. Fire away with your questions.
Don Evans
SCM# 2733

Put your heart into it, well done is better than well said... Ben Franklin
Boss subfixer

Postby ericclark » Sat May 01, 2010 7:26 pm

Thank you sir! Well, my first question is this. How feasible is it to make a ballast chamber that has holes in the bottom and a valve on top. It functions by simply flooding when the valve on top opens and and when it shuts, compressed air gets blown in sending the water back out the holes in the bottom from where it came in? I've seen all kinds of fancy ballast systems with all kinds of bells and whistles, but will a simple setup like this work?

Eric
ericclark