Banner Ad 1

Scale Color

This is the place to post your submarine build- ups.

Scale Color

Postby salmon » Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:26 pm

I had a great discussion with a gentleman from down under and in our many topics we touched on scale color. It brought back many memories from when I would enter model contests. So I would like to bring it up now and see if I can get a refresher. How do you figure scale color or is that a bunch of baloney? If I paint my 1/72 Gato as an example, do I lighten it? 28%?
I remember some of the lively discussions back then, but never heard a formula to resolve it. Hopefully, after several decades there is an answer ;-)
If you can cut, drill, saw, hit things and swear a lot, you're well on the way to building a working model sub.
salmon
SubCommittee Member

Re: Scale Color

Postby zeusbheld » Sat Oct 18, 2014 6:49 am

I know this is an old thread, and I am far from an expert on scale color, but it is a topic that interests me greatly.

I am very much in favor of it, and here's why: you can scale down a model, but you don't scale down the atmosphere with it. Scale color is just atmospheric perspective (also called aerial perspective). Air's not invisible. The more air between you and something, the more air you can see. Things at the horizon tend to be muted out toward a bluish medium grey.