Banner Ad 1

Ping!

Local Chapter covering the geography of British Columbia and the state of Washington. The "IP" refers to the "Inside Passage"...the large body of inland water that runs up the coast.

Ping!

Postby andy_geek » Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:55 pm

I'm pinging to see if anyone is around these parts. It appears there's no activity in this region for the last year so is it lack of interest, nothing important to talk about? :)

Hi, i'm Andy and i joined subcommitee yesterday. I live in Sammamish, WA. I spent 10 years in the USNavy and about 8 of that was on two boats, the USS Sculpin (Skipjack class) and USS San Francisco (Los Angeles class). I left the submarine force in 1994. I've had an interest in the RC submarines for years but only just decided that it was time to step up and go all in on this hobby. So i'm a total newb, i'm reading up on what the community thinks are good intro subs where i can get my hands dirty assembling one on my own.

If there's anyone around, please feel free to give me your guidance to get started.

Andy
Do or do not. There is not try.- Yoda

andy_geek
SubCommittee Member

Re: Ping!

Postby JefftyToo » Sun Sep 01, 2013 11:15 am

Ahoy, Andy!

A very hearty welcome aboard! And thanks for becoming a member! Thanks for your service also; always great to bring in a new guy who's actually walked the walk rather than only talked the talk (orators like me and so many of the rest of us). Expect to be grilled for experiences and sea stories!

Perhaps the most widely known benefit of having paid your SC dues is receipt of our quarterly SubCommittee Report. The latest issue is just days—perhaps only hours—away. Watch for that and dig in when available. In fact, there's a semi-regular "Scuttlebutt" column in the SCR you might consider contributing to: we'd love to hear from you. (See above.)