Banner Ad 1

Akula II

R/C Submarine modelers

Akula II

Postby MHISNR » Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:50 pm

Hello Fellow Submariners;
I’m working on an Akula-II sub from “Scale Ships”, and I’d like to have a little help on her construction:
Q1) Have any of you built one of these submarines? If you have, I’d like some help please.
Q2) How do you determined what size WTC to install in any sub model?
Thank you all for your help…
MHISNR
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Lakewood, Colorado USA

Postby Robert F. » Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:05 pm

Hi,

if you use the "search" function on this website you will find that Nuke Power did a builder's thread on that very same model. That might be of some use to you.


Regards,

Robert
Robert F.
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Bennekom, The Netherlands

Postby Wayne Frey » Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:47 am

I am building one, modified heavily.
You will find it is a straghtforward standard build. You have the advantages of a high quality kit. The best,most accurate Akula kit out there. It helps to have that edge!
A standard 3.5 or even a 3 inch WTC will work.
Just get on the bench and be fearless!
Dont worry about mistakes too much. Anything can be fixed. You will find you try not to make mistakes so it goes faster, that's all.
My build thread is actually on the build thread. (see 4th gen akula). I will be posting my latest efforts hopefully in about a week.
Feel free to email me with any questions.
SCM #653
SubCommittee Vice President 2006-2008
Author-Russian Submarines, Guardians of the Motherland
Member-Saint Petersburg Russia Submarine Club
User avatar
Wayne Frey
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 4:22 pm
Location: Western United States

Akula II - Thanks!

Postby MHISNR » Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:03 pm

Thanks to all of you for the help... I'll be asking for more help in the future.
MHISNR
Registered User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Lakewood, Colorado USA

Postby Wheelerdealer » Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:56 pm

I've built one, if you keep the whole of the WTC below the waterline you need about 400ml balast tank volume. If any part of your ballast tank is above the surfaced waterline, you need to add that volume to the ballast tank.
I used a 500ml tank in mine.
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/v/EJS53WnSt1s[/youtube]
Ramesh
www.rcmodelsubmarines.co.uk
----------------------------------------------------
Whaddya mean, I need a license to do that?!
User avatar
Wheelerdealer
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK


Return to R/C Modeler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]