Banner Ad 1

Ballast Pump Control - How to control fwd/rev of pump.

R/C Submarine modelers

Postby TennesseeJim » Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:45 am

I'm working on my ballast tank for my r/c sub and I have a question - How do I control the pump, for the tank, with just 1 r/c channel?

I have a 4 channel radio. It is a futaba. I'm using 3 of the channels for throttle/rudder/diving planes. I've seen switches advertised to control multiple functions with just one channel. Would one of these work? Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks - Jim
TennesseeJim
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Nashville, Tennessee

Postby Skip Asay » Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:54 am

Jim -

Go to http://www.rcboats.com/electronics.html and scroll down to RS-5 Electronic Reversing Switch. It was designed to control a ballast pump, among other things.

As a matter of fact, why not just go to http://www.rcboats.com and take a look at everything else. You'll probably be surprised at what SubTech has for submarines.

Skip Asay
SubTech
The U.S. of A - Land of the Free BECAUSE of the Brave
Skip Asay
Registered User
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 11:04 pm
Location: Sanford, NC

Postby ThierryC » Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:30 pm

Or you can just use a servo and two mini switches.
The following diagram shows you how to connect everything

[img]http://sub-systems.dyndns.org/forum/MAG[1].gif[/img]
There are 10 kind of people, those who undertand binary and those who don't !
Sub-Systems
User avatar
ThierryC
Registered User
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 3:52 am
Location: Perpignan, France

Postby Sub culture » Wed Jan 21, 2004 2:02 pm

ThierryC wrote:Or you can just use a servo and two mini switches.
The following diagram shows you how to connect everything

[img]http://sub-systems.dyndns.org/forum/MAG[1].gif[/img]

If you use micro switches, please ensure they are the current amperage rating.

Also, you can use a ESC for control. A bit OTT, but if you have a spare one laying around......!

Plus some ESC's work out a fair bit cheaper than a lot of so called dedicated switchers.

Also take a look here, if you want to see some great dive mananger controllers- absolutely unique!

http://www.modelcontrollers.co.uk

Cheers

Andy
'Why are you staring at an empty pond?'

Want to dive your boat in crystal clear water? Then you had better Dive-in- http://www.diveintomodelsubmarines.co.uk
User avatar
Sub culture
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 2880
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 6:55 am
Location: London, UK

Postby Britt Boyette » Thu Jan 22, 2004 11:02 am

If you use the unit Skip's talking about, you won't have to worry about any of that jazz. Also, the unit takes up less room than a servo and works perfectly.
Britt Boyette

Break Like The Wind Racing
Britt Boyette
Registered User
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2003 12:44 am
Location: Keizer, OR

Postby TennesseeJim » Thu Jan 22, 2004 11:53 am

Britt:

Are using one of these units?

Can you give a description of its use - do I just plug it into the remaining receiver socket and toggle the joystick left/right to fill/drain the tank?

- Jim
TennesseeJim
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Nashville, Tennessee

Postby Bigdave » Thu Jan 22, 2004 2:01 pm

I am not Britt but the answer is yes. The SES2 is not only an easier setup, it also has a missing pulse detector in it. If your radio signal is lost it will blow the ballast tank to hopefully save your boat. A fine example of the KISS. (Keep it simple stupid). Good Luck, Dave. :D



Edited By Bigdave on 1074794516
David Welch
Commodore SR-8

Image


"Eat your pudding Mr Land". "I ain't sure it's puddin" James Mason-Kirk
Douglas, 20K
User avatar
Bigdave
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 2861
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 8:33 am
Location: Rochester NY

Postby Skip Asay » Thu Jan 22, 2004 6:56 pm

"do I just plug it into the remaining receiver socket and toggle the joystick left/right to fill/drain the tank?"

Yes. But don't forget you also have to connect the wires to the pump and battery.

Also note that the proper switch to use is the RS-5. The SES-II that Dave mentioned is used to control 2 solenoids. While it could also be used to control a pump motor the extra circuitry required isn't worth the effort. Use the switch that was specifically designed for that purpose.

Skip Asay
SubTech

PS - The best way to get an answer as to how a vendor's product works is to go directly to the vendor. Dave's post, while very much appreciated, shows how easily, although very much unintended, a potential user could be mislead. (Sorry, Dave. But thanks)
The U.S. of A - Land of the Free BECAUSE of the Brave
Skip Asay
Registered User
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 11:04 pm
Location: Sanford, NC

Postby TennesseeJim » Thu Jan 22, 2004 8:37 pm

Thanks to everyone. This is the kind of information I need.

- Jim
TennesseeJim
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Nashville, Tennessee

Postby Bigdave » Thu Jan 22, 2004 11:35 pm

You are right Skip. I use the SES2 because I use solenoids. (Clippard Valves) to work my systems. I have never used the RS-5. Sorry for the confusion. See you at the WRAMS show. Dave. :D
David Welch
Commodore SR-8

Image


"Eat your pudding Mr Land". "I ain't sure it's puddin" James Mason-Kirk
Douglas, 20K
User avatar
Bigdave
SubCommittee Member
 
Posts: 2861
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 8:33 am
Location: Rochester NY

Postby Britt Boyette » Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:11 am

Like Skip said, again! I have used both the SES-II and the RS-5. They are as close to plug and play as you can get. Both of them never let me down. It's really nice to only have to buy something once. More if you have more than one sub, of course. :;):
Britt Boyette

Break Like The Wind Racing
Britt Boyette
Registered User
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2003 12:44 am
Location: Keizer, OR


Return to R/C Modeler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users