Banner Ad 1

Need Plans for WTC - I could use your input

R/C Submarine modelers

Postby Silent Hunter » Sat Nov 22, 2003 4:48 am

OK, so there's some 50 views on my post on looking to buy a 3" WTC but no replies, that tells me I better get to trying to create my own.
I have the materials and the equipment to create the entire package, but I've never done this before. Anyone out there willing to pass on bits of knowledge? I could sure use your help. :) Plans or drawings would really be helpful. Thanks!!
Whoops! almost forgot! This is for a 1/96 scale Permit class, so is single screw. :D

Edited By Silent Hunter on 1069491058
Richard Frisch
Subcommittee member #2348
Silent Hunter

Postby Sub culture » Sat Nov 22, 2003 5:17 am

Okey dokey.

If you want to use a gas pressurised ballast system then take a look here for drawings-

http://www.deepseadesigns.net

If that kind of ballast sytem is not your cup of tea, then you may wish to take a look at a book titled 'Model Submarine Technology' authored by Norbert Bruggen.

It's not a perfect book, but it's probably the best (only?)reference for the sub scratchbuilder out there, until someone writes something else!

There is a lot of information on the net too.

However, one of the best ways of learning what works, and what doesn't is to look at other members boats and speak to them.
You will quickly find out, that all the various ballast systems have their strengths as well as their weaknesses.

For my own recommendation I would give the following-

1. Dynamic diver
2. Water pump ballast sytem (Vented or sealed)
3. Gas ballast sytem

I've listed them in order of simplicity and cost.

Don't think that one is inherently inferior to the other though.

More advanced systems would include

1.Compressed air ballast system (using onboard compressor)
2. Piston ballast tank system (i.e. Engel tank)

Cheers

Andy
'Why are you staring at an empty pond?'