Banner Ad 1

Sub from scratch comments - newbe to subs but not to modeling

R/C Submarine modelers

Postby 112-1052706976 » Sun May 11, 2003 10:52 pm

Good evening everyone. This is my first time posting on this board. I have to say I'm excited about my adventures into R/C sub modeling.

I would like to give a brief summary of myself to kind of introduce myself to the board. I am a 21 year old computer scientist. I have never made a R/C sub before but I have made a R/C Airplane. I recently moved to a lake and my older brother (29 years old) and I have discussed interesting projects we could make. I came up with the idea for the submarine so I did some research and discoverd this board.

Now for the reason for this post. I was hoping I could get some comments and advice about my planned submarine as I have many problems I know I still must work out and many more that are yet to be discovered.

I want to make a submarine from scratch that is not based on any previously known sub. I want to place a b&w ccd camera inside a clear dome on the front of the submarine (I am not familiar with nautical terms so feel free to inform me of the correct names of things). I am thinking some kind of plastic molded to the correct shape. I plan to design the hull in autocad and have a friend create a mold so I can create the hull out of differant materials. Any suggestions to a material for a hull? I plan to have two electric engines and ballists. That is the basic design of the submarine.