Banner Ad 1

RC Sub Beginner: Where do I begin?

R/C Submarine modelers

RC Sub Beginner: Where do I begin?

Postby JohnPhilley » Thu Jan 16, 2014 11:47 pm

I'm very new to the world of RC. Not sure where to start. Do people usually buy pre-made receivers or build their own?
If I buy a ready-made receiver, can you modify it? For example, what if I want a stronger motor?
And what about the size/power of the battery? Does that limit/determine future choices?
Your feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
JohnPhilley
SubCommittee Member

Re: RC Sub Beginner: Where do I begin?

Postby salmon » Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:08 am

Welcome! Take a look here, http://www.subcommittee.com/sub101.html
This has basic information. To answer some of your questions, Receivers are pre-built and yes to everything else. Go over the site then see if you have questions.
Peace,
Tom
If you can cut, drill, saw, hit things and swear a lot, you're well on the way to building a working model sub.
salmon
SubCommittee Member

Postby Sub culture » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:18 pm

If you're new to R/C, I recommend you start with a model other than a submarine. Perhaps have a go at building a simple R/C boat. The cost is very much lower, and the build very much simpler and quicker. If you want to keep the sub theme, you could build a sub as a surface runner only, older boats e.g. those built around WWII make better surface runners than more modern designs which are optimised for submerged running.

I started out with boats, dabbled in cars, then went back to boats because the cost of remaining competitive with cars was beyond affordability for me at the time. By the time I got into subs, I was already very confident with R/C equipment, batteries and motors, but still found much to learn.

Had I gone in stone cold, I think I would have been totally overwhelmed.
'Why are you staring at an empty pond?'