Banner Ad 1

Evercoat Fillers, which to use?

R/C Submarine modelers

Evercoat Fillers, which to use?

Postby Warpatroller » Thu Mar 24, 2011 5:04 am

I've been away from this forum for quite a long time.. Have a question about Evercoat fillers. I have never used them before. I recall, Steve Neill and David Merriman use this stuff on their sub models. Aren't the Evercoat products intended for use on automotive metal body panels? I know the above mentioned guys use them on fiberglass hulls.

Which of the Evercoat products would be best for fillets and general filling of gaps when bonding urethane resin parts to an ABS vacuum-formed plastic hull? Also for fillets between metal and ABS plastic? In specific, for use filling gaps between the urethane resin lower tail and the ABS hull on the 32P XXIII model. And for same use to blend the metal, ballast weights to the bottom of the ABS hull by creating a fillet around the perimeter of the rectangular weights.

Evercoat "Easy Sand" or "Metal Glaze"? Or one of their other products? I am considering the "Easy Sand" 24oz bottle in particular, but would like to hear some opinions.
Warpatroller
SubCommittee Member

Re: Evercoat Fillers, which to use?

Postby bharris » Thu Mar 24, 2011 11:46 am

for the materials and tasks you have listed especially ABS plastic you might want give Evercoat Poly-Flex a try, it is for repair of flexible auto body parts and bumpers.
I have been trying it on various RC submarine and boat projects for over a year and am impressed with it. Wish I had it when I built my ABS Albacore some years ago.
Bob.
Bob Harris SCM# 1974
" No matter where you go there you are"
bharris
SubCommittee Member

Postby Pirate » Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:57 pm

Bob,
The polyester product doesn't get too hot that it will melt the ABS, does it?
That's the only thing I would be cautious of. Most of those fillers are intended for use on and with fiberglass, GRP.
HOLD FAST
Pirate
SubCommittee Member